Fun with sticks

Bilal wanted to make a nest, so I took a carrier bag with me on our first trip to the park pretty much since winter began (!) And he filled it with sticks to make the nest. After washing them, making the nest was so tricky the boys soon lost interest in seconds, despite my offer to let them use the glue gun (?!). And, while I struggle on the nest – feeling much admiration for birds that can actually do this without copious amounts of hot
glue, or opposable thumbs, or thumbs of any kind! – they started just playing with the sticks as though they were dinosaurs. They sounded as though they were playing with actual dinosaur toys. “Look this one has a crest like parasaurolophus”. They had the best time. Yusef said: “alhamdulillah Bilal picked sticks that look like dinosaurs! ”
Do they? What do you think? (I believe this is so easy when a child doesn’t have a TV,  alhamdulillah)

wpid-wp-1429351172712.jpeg

I love, love, love natural materials.  Their look, feel, smell (usually!) … if I am still enjoying this as an adult, imagine the enjoyment of a small child who hasn’t experience over 30 years worth of sticks…

2 thoughts on “Fun with sticks

  1. Asalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu,

    I recently came across your lovely blog, mashaaAllah and I just had to leave a comment to say: This is post is just so adorable! Reading it has just put the biggest smile on my face! Most children these days (mine included) are lost in the world of technology and media … It’s so lovely to see that a few haven’t forgotten how to have fun using imagination.

    Your blog is wonderful and your children’s work is truly a credit to you, mashaaAllah. I look forward to future posts inshaaAllah

    Your Sister in Islam, Iman

    Like

    1. Waleykum assalam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh sister Iman. Jazakillahu khayran for the kind words and encouragement. I have to say, I benefitted a lot from your blog over the last few years, masha’Allah. May Allah bless our efforts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

