A little something green

Assalamo ‘aleykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.

I am a lover of Winter and I am not ashamed to say it. Gloomy weather makes me happy and fills me with energy. The cloudier and greyer, the better. Masha’Allah. However, since having children I have come to see a completely different side to nice, warm weather, one that I used to be completely oblivious to. Now I see the fun that can be had in the sun, Alhamdulillah, as I struggle to get the boys indoors to eat their lunch! (sometimes I just give them a bowl to take outside).

Alhamdulillah, just as the boys always seem to find creative ways to entertain themselves and ever new things to capture their imagination and interest, there is much for us adults to discover and ponder upon in the garden.

When I first started getting acquainted with my current group of friends, for a while the talk always seemed to revolve around the great “grow your own” revolution that is swooping through the UK. I thought it was a good concept, although I had no clue about half the things they were talking about *smile* When I proposed the idea of growing things to my husband, he had a little chuckle and said something to the effect of “Is that the latest fad among the sisters then?” but I did give him the bug. And we have been growing stuff since. The raised beds my friends were planning have yet to materialise for us (shortage of free time and other commitments haven’t allowed, Alhamdulillah). But POTS are a great thing, and our pots population, along the sunny edge of the tiled part of our garden, has been steadily growing from one Spring to the next.

Growing things is easy and it fills us with wonder at the mercy of Allah and at how tiny seeds can become bright colour, fresh fragrances and nutritious food. As I look out to our modest selection of fruit, vegetables and herbs, there is an ayah that resounds in my head:

56:6356:64

{Tell Me! the seed that you sow in the ground; is it you that make it grow or are We the Grower?}

[Surah al-Waaqi’ah 56:63-64]

That really sums it up.

And now some pictures! they are from a couple of days ago and, subhanallah, things have already grown and changed since.

wpid-wp-1432753881462.jpeg wpid-wp-1432753943968.jpeg wpid-wp-1432753982540.jpeg

