How well do you know your Hajj rites?

In my case – regrettably – not very.

Like many Muslims who know they don’t have the means to perform the pilgrimage, nor do they expect to have them in the near future (although only Allah knows this!), I always put off learning about the rites of Hajj.

This year I bought a book, but I found it hard to get my head around that volume of information, particularly because  the different types of hajj as well as ‘Umrah were being explained simultaneously taking for granted some basic knowledge (such as the difference between the different types of Hajj) which I did not have.

I am writing this post to recommend listening to the lessons on the rites of Hajj, ‘Umrah and Ziyarah by Abu Khadeejah (may Allah preserve him), Insha’Allah. I haven’t gone through all of them yet but I have found them hugely informative, masha’Allah. You can find all 11 of them, as well as other beneficial talks about Hajj and the virtues of Dhul Hijjah, on Salafi Sounds (click image below), Alhamdulillah.

Abu Khadeejah - Rites of Hajj

I plan to use the notes I am taking from these classes to put together a map/poster of the rites of Hajj with Yusef, insha’Allah.  Regardless of what our situation is, we should know our pillars inside and out, Insha’Allah: What a lovely way to use the time in these precious days of Dhul Hijjah for those who are not preparing to actually go on Hajj, Alhamdulillah.

