Hajj themed counting activitiy

Assalamu ‘alaykum.

Today Bilal and I finished the Hajj activity we have been working on (with Yusef’s help) over the last few days. I won’t lie it was completely my idea and the boys were interested in the decorative aspect of it and left me to do all the “structural work” of gluing the finished product on heavy card, cutting that out and work out how to hang them… (who am I kidding here – I had lots of fun alhamdulillah!!!). Here it is:

wpid-wp-1442746810580.jpeg

Each number 1-10 has 3 components: a card showing the number, a smaller one with the corresponding number of dots/stickers (I am sure there is a specific way to describe numbers written like this …) and a third part at the bottom with counted items, in our case Hajj related items. I’ll tell you what they are because some are … erm… less than obvious:

1- Ka’bah    2-Hills     3-Jamaraat    4-Airplanes    5-Mawaaqeet   6-Suitcases    7-Pebbles   8-Tents     9-Sheep     10-Pilgrims

I used some A3 coloured papers, each cut in half and each strip divided into 3 (with the middle one being about half the size of the other 2). Then I glued everything on card. I didn’t laminate because I knew I wanted to stick some sensory materials and textured papers on, but I supposed you could laminate the base and then stick stuff on top of it?

I had some craft papers which I used as well as an old map, scraps of colourful paper, cotton wool, gauze (for the ihram clothing!), and magazine/crossword paper… but the fun in these kind of project is that you can just rummage in your recycling bag/cupboards and use creatively what is already there! (fun fun fun).

The 3 components are put together with paper clips (fashioned into hooks) and holes punched at the top. I’ll be honest, I put them up this morning and by noon 3 had already fallen off (taping the hooks couldn’t hold the weight of the 2 bottom bits… enters the stapler!).

wpid-20150920_102057-1.jpg

They are meant to be removable so they can be used for a matching game that will help number recognition and – when Hajj season is over – we can make different cards for counted things according to whatever theme we want insha’Allah. Exciting!

