The basics of Hajj poster/map

Assalamu ‘alaykum.

Alhamdulillah, we are no longer in the complete darkness about the rites of Hajj! it’s not just multitudes of people dressed in white cloth and looking really busy…

I wasn’t feeling very creative up to a few days ago so I started a Hajj and Dhul Hijjah Pinterest board, where I collected some relevant talks as well as some activities I that I might find inspiring. I sketched down a list of the main rites that occur on the different days of Hajj (the format was inspired by this Hajj day by day activity) and a basic map of the main Hajj locations with numbered arrows to show the sequence of events. We reproduced this on a poster, adding the definitions of some Hajj related Arabic terms.

wpid-20150922_133115.jpg

wpid-20150922_133310-1.jpg

It was a lot of fun to make it and we learned a lot. I am so happy to have come to grips with the basics of Hajj, alhamdulillah. We put the poster near the kitchen table, so these days we’ll be able to talk about it while sitting all together, insha’Allah. It seems to have worked well for Yusef too: he feels well versed about what goes on on Hajj (he was a bit concerned that they don’t have ihraam clothes at the moment*smile* all in due time insha’Allah).

