What are you doing this Ramadaan?

LunarEclipseQuestionMarkSeq28Aug2007

Assalamo alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.

What am I doing this Ramadaan? (and by “doing” I mean with the children)

I am keeping it simple. Insha’Allah.

Last Ramadaan I think I completely overwhelmed the boys (and myself!) with all I had planned and prepared. They loved to see what was inside the Ramadaan Mailbox, but then they pretty much wanted to go to play outside… This is why this year insha’Allah simplicity will be key.

It’s going to be tafseer. Masha’Allah Y is memorising a lot – Allahummah baarik alayh – but his understanding of what he is memorising is lagging far far far behind.

First I thought of buying him a copy of the English translation of the Noble Qur’an – but the language is too difficult.

Then I thought of re-writing the English translation of the Noble Qur’an (first juzz ‘Amma, then Surah al-Baqarah) to make it easier for children to understand – I cannot do it. I don’t have the time to commit to it at this point in time.

Then I thought I would create a tafseer workbook with a super cool word by word word match to basically translate every single word – ok, this is YOUR dream workbook woman, but what about your 8 year old????

So we are going to take teeny tiny steps to venture into the tafseer of surah al-Baqarah (what he is memorising now insha’Allah). I took out my Ibn Katheer and my Tafseer as-Saa’dee and, starting from Alif-Lam-Meem, I took the first 30, most basic, points of benefit. Each day he will be given one of them – in the order they occur – and he will associate it to the correct ayah (with my help if needed).

We will have a DIY Surah al-Baqarah study notebook, i.e. I will print out the surah from a PDF of the 15 lines Madani mushaf (I found the one I am using here and here). I will trim and glue each page on the top inner corner of the page of an A4 notebook, so that there is plenty of margin to stick the little benefit cards I will give him, to colour code them with the relevant ayaat and – maybe, someday – for him to add his observations.

I will post a PDF with the first 30 tafseer cards as soon as possible. As always, it is going to be very basic. No fancy design (I wish!)

This is not meant strictly as a Ramadaan activity. We will start it in Ramadaan, when Allah in His vast mercy makes the good deeds easier, but I hope and ask Allah to make this little exercise a first step in a lifelong, close and meaningful relationship with His Qur’an. Ameen.

 

